Hagley Museum & Library

298 Buck Road
Wilmington, DE 19807
302-658-2400 voice
Hours:

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, except certain national holidays. The library building is also open on the second Saturday of each month from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Staff:
  • Administration:
  • Erik Rau, Library Director (PACSCL rep), erau@hagley.org
  • Gene Castellano, Business Manager, Hagley Heritage Curators Program, ecastellano@hagley.org
  • Cheryl Jackson, Library Coordinator, cjackson@hagley.org

  • Manuscripts and Archives:
  • Lynn Catanese, Chief Curator of Library Collections, lcatanese@hagley.org
  • Christopher Baer, Asst. Curator, Manuscript & Archives, cbaer@hagley.org
  • Lucas Clawson, Reference Archivist, lclawson@hagley.org
  • Marsha Mills, Foundation Archivist, mmills@hagley.org
  • Clayton Ruminski, Archives Specialist, cruminskil@hagley.org
  • John Waters, Stack Assistant, jwaters@hagley.org
  • Daniel Michelson, Project Archivist, dmichelson@hagley.org

  • Published Collections:
  • Max Moeller, Curator of Imprints, mmoeller@hagley.org
  • Linda Gross, Reference Librarian, lgross@hagley.org
  • Alice Hanes, Technical Services Librarian, ahanes@hagley.org
  • Vicki Wasserman, Library Assistant, vwasserman@hagley.org
  • Talia Coutin, Project Cataloger, tcoutin@hagley.org

  • Audiovisual Collections and Digitial Initiatives:
  • Kevin Martin, Andrew W. Mellon Curator of Audiovisual and Digital Collections, kmartin@hagley.org
  • Michael Demers, Digital Assets Coordinator, mdemers@hagley.org
  • Skylar Harris, Digitization and Metadata Coordinator, sharris@hagley.org
  • Laurie Sather, Audiovisual Archivist, lsather@hagley.org
  • Lynsey Sczechowicz, Reference Archivist, lsczechowicz@hagley.org

  • Library Conservation:
  • Laura Wahl, Library Conservator, lwahl@hagley.org
  • Sharon Fickeissen, Conservation Technician, sfickeissen@hagley.org

  • Center for the History of Business, Technology, and Society:
  • Roger Horowitz, Director, Center for the History of Business, Technology, and Society, rhorowitz@hagley.org
  • Carol Lockman, Manager, Center for the History of Business, Technology, and Society, clockman@hagley.org

Founded in 1953 by Pierre S. du Pont as the Longwood Library and merged with the Hagley Museum in 1961, the library houses an important collection of manuscripts, photographs, recordings, publications, pamphlets, ephemera, and digital records documenting the history of American business, technology, and industrial design. Its main strength is in the Middle Atlantic region but includes business organizations and companies with national and international impact.

The library's 290,000 volumes and 12,000 microforms include books and serials, pamphlets, maps and atlases, city directories, theses, government documents, company annual reports, stockholder and employee magazines, advertising literature, public relations pieces, a collection of more than 20,000 trade catalogs, guidebooks and catalogs for the great international expositions, and the Guttman Collection of pyrotechnics. Its 37,000 linear feet of manuscript contain the records of more than 1,000 firms and the entrepreneurs who build them, as well as the records of national business organizations. Noteworthy collections include the business and personal papers of the Du Pont Company and family, the Philadelphia and Reading and Pennsylvania Railroads, the Sun Company, Bethlehem Steel, the Philadelphia National Bank, Sperry-Univac, and the Sperry Gyroscope Company. Pictorial collections ranging in size from one image to more than 100,000 include formats from daguerreotypes to Polaroid prints, lithographs and engravings, and videotapes.