Temple University

NUC Symbol: PPT

Temple University Libraries

1210 Polett Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Hours:

Mon - Fri, 8:30- 5:30

Staff:

Dean of University Libraries

Joe Lucia

Special Collections Research Center

  • Margery N. Sly, Director of Special Collections Research Center (PACSCL Rep), 215-204-1455, msly@temple.edu
  • Brenda Galloway-Wright, Associate Archivist, 215-204-1639, bgallowa@temple.edu
  • Katy Rawdon, Coordinator of Technical Services, 215-204-5250, krawdon@temple.edu
  • Josue' Hurtado, Coordinator of Public Services and Outreach, 214-204-4582, josue.hurtado@temple.edu
  • John Pettit, Assistant Archivist, 215-204-3224, jpettit@temple.edu
  • Jessica Lydon, Associate Archivist (PJAC), 215-204-4730, jessica.lydon@temple.edu
  • Courtney Smerz, Collection Management Archivist, 215-204-3954, courtney.smerz@temple.edu
  • Kimberly Tully, Curator of Rare Books, 215-204-4995, kimberly.tully@temple.edu

Blockson Collection: Sullivan Hall: 1330 Polett Walk 

With over 3,000,000 volumes the Temple University Libraries is the second largest academic library in the Delaware Valley. Its special collections includes 150,000 printed books, 5 1/2 million photographic images, and 45,000 cubic feet of archives and manuscripts.

The Special Collections Research Center includes:  the Urban Archives documents post-Civil War local social, educational, political, and labor history in the region, including records, papers, maps, atlases, pamphlets, and photographs, with significant collections including The Philadelphia Inquirer/Daily New and The Philadelphia Evening Bulletin.  The Philadelphia Jewish Archives Collection contains diaries, photos, and other papers, and the records of many regional Jewish organizations.  Rare Books & Manuscripts has emphases on English and French literature, horticulture and landscape gardening, the history of business and accounting, English religious and parliamentary history, and the graphic arts including fine printing, lithography, printing history, and artist books.  The Science Fiction and Fantasy Collection includes monographs, periodical, organization records and authors' papers.  The Contemporary Culture Collection documents social protest in the 1960s-present, through small press and alternative publications  and archival collections. The University Archives ( the Conwellana-Templana Collection) includes the papers of Temple founder Russell H. Conwell and of faculty, alumni, some institutional records, and monographs including the Temple University Press.  And the Philadelphia Dance Collection at Temple (PDCAT) holds the records and papers of regional dance companies and dancers.

The Charles L. Blockson Afro-American Collection is an extensive research collection of books, pamphlets, manuscripts, music, broadsides, and artifacts of African, Caribbean, and Afro-American life.