Committees and Working Groups

PACSCL committees and working groups strive to be useful to all members of the PACSCL community, provide advice to the PACSCL board as needed, and work with PACSCL membership to implement its ideas. PACSCL projects, such as grants and digitization initiatives, are managed by working groups consisting of the principal investigators, project staff, and other participating libraries as needed.

Nominations and Governance Committee

This standing committee advises the board on issues of governance, including periodic review of PACSCL’s governing documents and policies and supervision of the nominations and election process for board candidates.

Membership, 2020-2021

  • John Anderies, Chair, John J. Wilcox, Jr. Archives at William Way LGBT Community Center
  • Lois Fischer Black, Lehigh University
  • Sara Borden, Rowan University
  • Susan Glassman, Wagner Free Institute of Science
  • Matthew Herbison, Drexel University College of Medicine

Finance Committee

This standing committee, in consultation with the treasurer and staff, provides financial oversight, including annual budget development and monitoring and balancing PACSCL’s short-term and long-term goals and responsibilities

Membership, 2020-2021

  • Alexis Antracoli, Princeton University
  • Evan Boyd, United Lutheran Seminaries
  • Lynn Dorwaldt, Wagner Free Institute (ex officio)
  • Matthew Lyons, Chair, Drexel University
  • Linda Manfredonia, Glenmede Trust Company
  • Leslie O’Neill, Catholic Historical Research Center of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia
  • Katy Rawdon, Temple University

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The PACSCL DEI Committee is charged with strategizing for and developing opportunities to build a more diverse, inclusive, and anti-racist PACSCL. This work is intended to apply to PACSCL itself, its member organizations, and their staff. The Committee strives to understand the broader issues of diversity and equity and how these issues impact our work and the users we serve. You can contact the committee at

In collaboration with the members of PACSCL and Managing Director, the Committee will:

  • Assess PACSCL’s current environment, structure, and governance practices to ensure that its activities, funded projects, communications, programming, and services are in line with the Statement on Diversity and Inclusion
  • Collaborate with the Nominations and Governance Committee to facilitate diversity in PACSCL participation at all levels, especially in leadership, Board membership, and committee membership
  • Identify barriers and encourage recruitment as well as retention of underrepresented people in the library and archives profession in this region by providing support and guidelines for equity in the workplace
  • Engage PACSCL members in meaningful programming that facilitates conversations and action
  • Recommend practices, including those specific to descriptive work, collecting, access, public services, and accessibility and provide resources to help foster a culturally competent, knowledgeable member base
  • Be an avenue for PACSCL organizations and their staff to share their thoughts on this topic and to be a catalyst for putting those ideas into action

Membership, 2021-2022

  • Beaudry Rae Allen, Villanova University
  • Faith Charlton, Princeton University Library
  • Rachel D’Agostino, Co-Chair, Library Company of Philadelphia
  • Jesse R. Erickson, University of Delaware
  • Margaret Huang, Co-Chair, Philadelphia Museum of Art
  • Michael Lear, State Library of Pennsylvania
  • Caroline McCarthy, Science History Institute
  • Simon Ragovin, Drexel University
  • Heather Isbell Schumacher, University of Pennsylvania, Stuart Weitzman School of Design
  • Synatra Smith, Philadelphia Museum of Art
  • Armando Suárez, Princeton University
  • Alexa Vallejo, Philadelphia Museum of Art

Communications Committee

The PACSCL Communications committee develops, determines and implements strategies to encourage better communication among PACSCL member staff. The committee is also charged with increasing awareness of PACSCL materials and programs both within and outside the nexus of PACSCL membership. Topics of concern to the committee include: branding, reputation (of the organization and member organizations) and engagement. You can contact the committee at

In order to facilitate this work, the committee, in consultation with the Managing Director:

  • Oversees PACSCL social media (Facebook, Twitter) and develops a coherent and consistent social media strategy
  • Manages major communication tools for the organization such as the PACSCL website, newsletters, and member event calendar
  • Reviews communication channels and evaluates how/if they meet the needs of the PACSCL community in fulfilling the committee’s commitment to engagement, branding, and reputation.
  • Develops resources for PACSCL staff and Board on general public relations.

Membership, 2020-2021

  • Ashley Augustyniak, Science History Institute
  • Sophia Dahab, Library Company of Philadelphia
  • Tristan Dahn, Web Manager, Library Company of Philadelphia
  • Sarah Horowitz, Co-Chair, Haverford College
  • Josue Hurtado, Temple University
  • Alex Japha, Lehigh University
  • Allison Mills, Bryn Mawr College, Co-Chair
  • Emma Sarconi, Princeton University
  • Jennifer Vess, Academy of Natural Sciences

Program & Member Engagement Committee

The PACSCL Program and Member Engagement Committee identifies educational and professional development needs and offers opportunities, including celebratory events, that increase participation of member staff and the special collections community in consortium activities. You can contact the committee at

Membership, 2020-2021

  • Lois Fischer Black, Lehigh University
  • Caitlin Goodman, Free Library of Philadelphia
  • Matthew Herbison, Drexel University College of Medicine Legacy Center
  • Sarah Newhouse, Co-Chair, Science History Institute
  • Allison Olsen, University of Pennsylvania
  • Leslie O’Neill, Catholic Historical Research Center of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia
  • Kayla Van Osten, Widener University
  • Heather Willever-Farr, Co-Chair, La Salle University

Technology Sustainability Working Group

Membership 2020-2021

  • Celia Caust-Ellenbogen, Swarthmore College, Co-Chair
  • Lynn Dorwaldt, Wagner Free Institute of Science, Co-Chair
  • Rachel Appel, University of Pennsylvania
  • Tristan Dahn, Library Company of Philadelphia
  • Margaret Graham, Drexel University College of Medicine
  • Alex Japha, Lehigh University
  • Lindsay Van Tine, Historical Society of Pennsylvania
  • Sarah Newhouse, Science History Institute
  • Annabel Pinkney, Science History Institute
  • Heather Willever-Farr, Lasalle University

Sestercentennial Working Group

  • Jill Borin, Widener University
  • Beth Hesse, Athenaeum of Philadelphia
  • Will Noel, Princeton University

Disaster Management Working Group

  • John Anderies, William Way LGBT Community Center 
  • Jill Borin, Widener University
  • Beth Hessel, Athenaeum of Philadelphia
  • Will Noel, Princeton University