Skip to content

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The PACSCL DEI Committee is an ad hoc committee charged with strategizing for and developing opportunities to build a more diverse, inclusive, and anti-racist PACSCL. This work is intended to apply to PACSCL itself, its member organizations, and their staff. The Committee strives to understand the broader issues of diversity and equity and how these issues impact our work and the users we serve. You can contact the committee at

In collaboration with the members of PACSCL and the Managing Director, the Committee will:

  • Assess PACSCL’s current environment, structure, and governance practices to ensure that its activities, funded projects, communications, programming, and services are in line with the Statement on Diversity and Inclusion
  • Collaborate with the Nominations and Governance Committee to facilitate diversity in PACSCL participation at all levels, especially in leadership, Board membership, and committee membership
  • Identify barriers and encourage recruitment as well as retention of underrepresented people in the library and archives profession in this region by providing support and guidelines for equity in the workplace
  • Engage PACSCL members in meaningful programming that facilitates conversations and action
  • Recommend practices, including those specific to descriptive work, collecting, access, public services, and accessibility, and provide resources to help foster a culturally competent, knowledgeable member base
  • Be an avenue for PACSCL organizations and their staff to share their thoughts on this topic and to be a catalyst for putting those ideas into action

Membership, 2023-2024

  • Beaudry Rae Allen, Chair, Villanova University
  • Faith Charlton, Princeton University Library
  • Rachel D’Agostino, Library Company of Philadelphia
  • Nancy Loi, Rosenbach Museum & Library
  • Caroline McCarthy, Science History Institute
  • Allison Mills, Bryn Mawr College
  • Heather Isbell Schumacher, University of Pennsylvania, Stuart Weitzman School of Design
  • Alexa Vallejo, Philadelphia Museum of Art